New Delaware Law Prohibits Use of Cell Phones While Driving

On January 2nd 2011, Delaware’s law prohibiting the use of hand-held cell phones while driving took effect & local authorities say there won’t be a grace period when it comes to enforcement.

Drivers can still talk on the road, but they must use a hands-free device like a Bluetooth headset or speakerphone.  Drivers are also forbidden from performing other phone-related activities such as text messaging, checking email and browsing websites.

Breaking the new cell-phone law is considered a primary offense which means police officers who spot an offending driver can pull the person over for that violation alone.  The fine is $50 for the first offense and as much as $200 for a subsequent violation.

Delaware joins 8 other states and Washington, D.C. plus numerous cities, counties and towns, on the list of jurisdictions nationwide that have enacted similar bans.

Leave a Reply